The 2008 Induction Ceremony

Ahmet Ertegun was again remembered at the 2008 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony when Jann Wenner announced that the nonperformer Inductee award would be named after Ertegun beginning with this year's class.

The Dave Clark Five, Leonard Cohen, Madonna, John Mellencamp, The Ventures, Little Walter and Gamble & Huff were Inducted this year, with special tributes from Billy Joel, John Fogerty, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, Joan Jett, Justin Timberlake, Ben Harper, Jerry Butler and Tom Hanks.

Mellencamp underscored to impact of the rock & roll art form: "The sword is a mighty weapon, but it ain't nothing compared to the songs and the words to the songs that we sing."

Videos from the Ceremony

    All Rock Hall Inductees

    Which inductee are you looking for?

    Induction Stats


    Total number of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees


    Total number of people inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame


    Total number of groups inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame


    Total number of Induction Ceremonies

    Artists inducted more than once: